Fishers Island is a small island about 9 miles long in the eastern Long Island Sound. Although it belongs to New York State, the island is accessible to cars only by ferry from New London, CT. Year round, residents number less than 300. In the summer, the population swells far beyond that as families return to summer homes and renters spend a month or two on the island.
Known for its beautiful water vistas as well as diverse flora and fauna, the island provides a serene home for both full time and part time residents. Recreation includes boating, golf, and beaches.
The island gained its name in 1614 when one of the first European visitors, Adriaen Block, laid claim to the island and named it “Visher’s Island” after a companion. Prior to the Europeans, the island was inhabited by the Pequot nation. More on the island’s history can be found at the Henry L. Ferguson Museum website.
We are grateful to Nora Howard, Union Chapel member and avid photographer, for the glimpses here of our unique island!